1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Need to safely remove hardware or just pull out USB?

I connected my S3 to my windows 7 pc.

I am able to copy files to and from the phone.

When done, can I just yank out the USB plug?

Thanks,

Mike

Global Posts
    66 Global Posts

Yes just remove usb cable
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Default Re: Need to safely remove hardware or just pull out USB?

Thanks!

Consider it yanked!

Mike

I'm an IT Tech and used to always just pull the cable. I don't do that anymore though. In rare instances you can corrupt the sd file system. Sometimes it doesn't corrupt but windows keeps reporting it as needing a scan to correct it. You can cancel the pop up and just go about your business but it is annoying. Always eject/safely remove the device first, trust me.

Rev.
    Galaxy S3
    Ubuntu Linux 10.04
    IT Tech
    CrackBerry Convert

Global Posts
    3,236 Global Posts
    ROM
    Goldeneye 4.0 + CWM OUDHS

For me on Windows 7 64 Bit there is no "safely remove hardware" for my S III. Unlike mass storage mode with other USB devices, it seems like it's ok to remove it without ejecting first. I figured this was a feature of MTP since the card isn't actually "mounted".

@Jeffreii - the card is always "mounted" per se. With Windows 7 simply right click the drive letter and choose "Eject".

Rev.
    Galaxy S3
    Ubuntu Linux 10.04
    IT Tech

Quote Originally Posted by Rev2010 View Post
    I'm an IT Tech and used to always just pull the cable. I don't do that anymore though. In rare instances you can corrupt the sd file system. Sometimes it doesn't corrupt but windows keeps reporting it as needing a scan to correct it. You can cancel the pop up and just go about your business but it is annoying. Always eject/safely remove the device first, trust me.

Rev.
    the S3 doesnt identify itself as an external storage to windows although you still have all the functionality so you dont get the 'safely remove usb' option