Just for fun: iPhone users couldn't help me

PaulQ

Jan 6, 2011
Visit site
I am a college teacher and suffer from the inevitable interruption of text message beeps during my class. Someone always forgets to turn their phone on silent. I tell my students with Androids and Blackberrys to pick up one of the several very effective apps that will do it on a schedule. I didn't know of anything on the iPhone so I searched on my own.

There is one app called "Auto Silent" that says it can do the trick but the reviews are mixed. Apparently, Apple doesn't want its people accessing the ringer settings for some reason. This is the ONLY app I found.

I decided to post my question on an iPhone forum. All I got were unworkable suggestions to either tell students to leave their iPhones on a table by the door or just constantly remind them. There was no automated solution.

Maybe its a testament that our 18yo's can't dependably turn their phones on silent but it also reminded me that Apple can be a pain in the...

Looking forward to the beeps, musical ringers and interesting alerts of the Fall semester!

...sent from Infinity

funkylogik

May 21, 2012
Visit site
well the s3 seems to be becoming a phenomenon close to the iphone in the US mate so maybe next semester you could make a poster for the wall with instructions on how to make an android go silent during preset hours of preset days :)

GMJeff

Jan 25, 2011
Visit site
But iPhone's have a physical switch on the phone to silence it. No need for an application.

It is just forgetfulness or laziness to not silence the devices before a class.

Ruler, meet knuckles.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Android Central Forums

CaneToad

Jun 19, 2012
Visit site
But iPhone's have a physical switch on the phone to silence it. No need for an application.

Ruler, meet knuckles.

Hear Hear

badelhas

Jul 30, 2012
Visit site

Ruler, meet knuckles.