Lowest battery use regarding wi-fi

lesorkim

Aug 13, 2012
Visit site
Hello:

Again, I have used the search feature and found scads of threads NOT about what I typed in. So, first I need a link to secret tips that make the search engine work.

Ok, after that, my real question. I am told (oh yeah, android newbie here) I am told that wi-fi can use up a battery quickly? I think it may be due to it searching for wi-fi all the time? In any case, I want to be on wi-fi at home and work as much as possible to use as little data as possible. With that said, what can I do with settings to minimize the power. I notice that even when I am connected at home, then I open the wifi window it seems to be scanning for other wifi channels every thirty seconds. Wondering if this eats battery, and if there is a way to say, "hey, once your connected to a dependable wifi, stop looking".

jneusch

May 18, 2011
Visit site
I believe it only looks when you are on the wifi setup screen. I turn off wifi when I'm away from a connection, but I don't see it draining the battery any more than mobile data. I believe it uses less battery than 4G.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

_OMEGA_

Jul 31, 2012
Visit site
Wi-Fi uses less battery than 3G/4G. And as long as you're connected to your Wi-Fi it doesn't waste more battery trying to search for more networks.

lesorkim

Aug 13, 2012
Visit site
Thanks, that's just the info I was looking for. I was just concerned that while I was on the wifi setup screen that it kept scanning, and I wondered if it kept scanning even after I left that screen and what a waste of battery that would be.