Setting off alarms!

gcwj

Aug 2, 2011
Visit site
I've noticed my S3 setting off some store's security alarms when I enter or leave. Wifi and Mobile Data are both off, but phone function is on. Anybody else have this happen, and is there a fix?

montanaxvi

Oct 3, 2010
Visit site
I doubt it is actually the phone but rather a sticker or "tag" on an article of clothing or shoe etc. I work in retail loss prevention and have never seen a phone set off the EAS (electronic article surveillance) towers by the doors.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

gcwj

Aug 2, 2011
Visit site
My clothes/shoes never set off any alarms until I started carrying my new phone with me. So much for your theory.

534n

Aug 28, 2012
Visit site
It may be the NFC is on a similar frequency as the store's RF antenna. Could also be that the modulation on the idle NFC or a waiting state could be bouncing the RF scan back at a proper range to set it off.

Do you have NFC/beam enabled or disabled? If your phone sets one off again, try setting it down and walking through again without it and see if it does not go off, assuming of course you did not already try this.

gcwj

Aug 2, 2011
Visit site
NFC, Android Beam, S Beam, DLNA, Bluetooth, etc., are all off. Only thing on is phone call function. I'll try what you suggested, plus maybe I'll try Airplane mode.

jcondon

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
I doubt it is actually the phone but rather a sticker or "tag" on an article of clothing or shoe etc. I work in retail loss prevention and have never seen a phone set off the EAS (electronic article surveillance) towers by the doors.