Root Help: All the things you can do

534n

Aug 28, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

I am not very good at producing baseless (here meaning "having no starting point or reason") walkthroughs or guides. However, I do take time to look at this forum fairly frequently while working on my computer. A lot of people have had their certain nitpicks about the S3 (or Android in general) and many of them can be fixed very easily, but requiring root access. Even simple things like saving memory and battery, changing sounds or not liking ANY of the stock options for sounds. I, and many other experienced users, can make recommendations or provide help for questions new users, users curious about root, or new root users may have.

There are obvious examples, but I would like this thread to be more of an up to date FAQ than a "How To" or some other type of guide.

So, with that out of the way, if any S3 owners have questions about ways to change certain things with the phone, or issues, or things they just don't like and want gone - feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer - consolidating a few threads I saw about small issues into one.

And for a closing statement, I think that root should be a checkbox in settings and not something that voids your warranty. It is more difficult than people think to break your phone's hardware with root access alone. That takes a little more know how. Screwing up software is easy, but that can 95% of the time (made up statistic, but I have had 100% success when I screwed up) be recovered and/or fixed.

So feel free to ask away, no question is stupid. I also do not mind questions that have already been answered, or people who don't feel like searching. Just keep in mind I may not be able to answer every day.

alexcolka

Aug 7, 2012
Visit site
Hi,