Best USB cigarette lighter adapter for car?

jmaudi0

Sep 29, 2012
Visit site
I need to buy a cigarette lighter adapter for my car (Infiniti G37S). Preferably I want one with a small profile because my cig lighter is in a little compartment with a lid and I'd like to be able to close the lid without having to unplug the adapter. I was looking on Amazon at these 2....any other recommendations?

Amazon.com: iFlash Dual USB Car Lighter Charger Adapter with 3A Output - fast Heavy Duty Ouput - Black Color: MP3 Players & Accessories
Amazon.com: Satechi ST-2412 Car Lighter USB Charger Adapter with Smart Converter for iPad 2 & 3, iPhone 4S & 5, Samsung Galaxy S II & S III, BlackBerry Playbook, HTC Flyer, Android Phones (2.1 AMP): Cell Phones & Accessories (i like the look of this one better but I don't understand if that special converter sticks out farther than the unit itself).

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
I have no experience with either, but I'd say that yes, that special converter sticks out further than the unit itself. And, since it says it works with iDevices, I suspect you'd need the converter for it to work properly with an Android phone.

Something to note: Apple devices use a different method to tell the device whether it's connected to a computer or to a stand-alone charger (big surprise that Apple can't follow a standard approach, right?). So a non-Apple device plugged into a charger designed for Apple devices will only charge at 500 mA regardless of what the charger is capable of. Be sure to read the reviews on Amazon and make sure it charges non-Apple devices at the higher charge rate.

worwig

Dec 29, 2010
Visit site
Last edited:

AxlMyk

Sep 12, 2012
Visit site
I bought a lighter plug at Dollar General for 6 bucks. USB plug in it.

--Tapatalk on Samsung GS3.

GrooveRite

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site
I've bought mine off a popular place on the web other than Amazon with better prices to boot!! I'd tell ya but then I'd have to kill ya! :D