Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Henrik Poulsen
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default One Click Root

Hello! Has anyone used the One Click Root Software? One Click Root | Android Rooting Software
    I want to root my phone with the option of un-rooting if I need to. The website looks great but I am totally new to this stuff. I guess I want to make sure it is safe and really works before I try it for myself. Thanks in advance for all your help!

Default Re: One Click Root

Which variant of the S3 do you own. There is a warning that it will not work on the SGH-I535 from Verizon. I have not use this software so really do not know. Also reading some of the comments it does not work with 4.1.1 or 4.1.2 OS. Use Caution.
    This is the S3 page>>How to Root Samsung Galaxy S3 | One Click Root

I'm not familiar with this approach either, although I know some people on the forums have used it. The FAQ says it only works with OS version up to 4.02, so if you're on Jellybean forget it.

My biggest concern is that it's a black box. I don't know what it does, or what changes it makes to the device. Will it retain root if you later update to a new version of the OS? Don't know. Does it retain the stock recovery or install something like CWM or TWRP? Don't know.

Let us know what version of the S3 you have, and we can point you to solid instructions.

Also, why do you want to root? What benefits do you expect to get? I strongly urge you to read through the rooting forum here on A|C for you specific version of the device, and understand what's going on, and what the risks are. Especially if you're thinking about using a custom ROM, you really want to understand what you're doing, and not just blindly jump in. Flashing the wrong ROM can completely brick your phone, turning it into an expensive door stop.