LCD cracked, nothing to display

J1mmy7319

Aug 21, 2013
Visit site
I accidently dropped my phone and the LCD has been cracked along with the digitizer. It looks like the screen isn't worth replacing given how much they cost, I thought I might as well sell it off. The problem is that I want to clear my device entirely before selling it, but can I do so without a screen?

Is there any way I can hook it up to another device so that I can use that devices' screen in wiping it?

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
I don't remember any way using ADB to wipe the phone but I'm no expert.

If you know someone with another S3 you could borrow their screen to make it happen - this involves some disassembly of the phone.

Seems like the going rate for a replacement LCD/digitizer is ~$179 http://m.repairsuniverse.com/samsung-galaxy-s3-screen-assembly-replacement-white.html

Edit: oh, I forgot - if you have an MHL<>HDMI adapter you could hook the phone up to a TV and see the screen that way.

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk 2

J1mmy7319

Aug 21, 2013
Visit site
Yeah the replacement screen is no longer feasible, and I think getting another functioning S3 wouldn't work as I'd probably end up screwing that one over.

Is there no way to do via the booting menu with the volume keys? I remember seeing an option that resembled 'erase...' last time I installed a custom rom.

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
If you mean trying to navigate Recovery mode blind, I suppose that's possible. Unfortunately I don't have the stock Recovery on my phone so I can't guide you through the correct steps - sorry.

You could use the Kies software on your PC to do that, come to think of it. (So much for thinking out of the box) :banghead:

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk 2

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Yes - goto Tools -> Firmware Upgrade and Initialisation