Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Rooted Galaxy S3 - can't gain access to ClockworkMod Recovery for backup

I have a Samsung Galaxy S3 with Rogers, I was able to root my phone following the instructions on

How to Root Any Samsung Galaxy S3! ~ Android Rootz | Source for Android Rooting, ROMS, Tricks and more!

I actually have a Mac but wasn't able to successfully root my phone until I gave up & used my mom's Windows laptop. So it's now rooted but when I reboot & try to access ClockworkMod Recovery (holding Volume Up, Home Button & Power Button) I can't seem to access it. I'm asking because I would like to do a backup before moving on to installing a custom ROM. I'm a noob to this but moderately comfortable with this sort of thing, being a Ubuntu user for a long time, but can't seem to find anything online that is helping me.

Default Re: Rooted Galaxy S3 - can't gain access to ClockworkMod Recovery for backup

What happens when you try?

First, you need to have the phone off to do this. It won't work if the phone is powered on when you start. Second, if you release the buttons too soon or too late the phone will boot normally. Hold all three buttons until you see the Samsung logo, then immediately release all three buttons. It should boot into recovery.
    PLEASE, when asking for help provide as much information as possible. We can't help unless we know what the symptoms are and what you did before they began.

Default Re: Rooted Galaxy S3 - can't gain access to ClockworkMod Recovery for backup