Samsung Galaxy S4 Active Announced

James Falconer

Former Community Manager
Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
Earlier today, Samsung announced the ruggedized, water-resistant and dust-resistant Galaxy S4 Active. Much of the specs are the same as your stock S4, with the big difference being the 'fully sealed design'.

My question to you? is this something you've been longing for in a flagship device? Something ruggedized that you can toss around, spill a beer on and use as a blunt weapon if necessary?

I'm all for ruggedized devices, so long as compromises aren't made in terms of performance and easy of use. Suppose I'd be more accepting if I worked in construction or some sort of trade where dust/dent/scratch/water-proofing would be a huge plus.

I ramble. Let me know what you think, and you can read more about the announcement right here: Samsung announces water-resistant Galaxy S4 Active | Android Central

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Being a construction worker and living in the elements of dust, dirt, grease and diesel fuel this would be a welcomed device to me. Although the latter of my description would probably over take the rugged protection but the first three elements constantly wrecked havoc on my devices and this could be a great solution !

AllAbout813

Jun 3, 2013
Visit site
I just got my Galaxy s4 yesterday with my upgrade. Would have been nice to have known about this; I wonder what the price difference is. Also because I just upgraded a day ago I wonder if they would allow me to return it in exchange if I wanted too.. Still not sure if I would but I am curious.

OceanView

Jul 13, 2012
Visit site
Yes I would love to get one of these.
I do a lot of outdoor activities and am around water so the Active would allow me to be active without worrying about damaging my phone.

Oh and I love the fact that this phone is thin.
I hate bulky phones.

Unobtanium

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site