Screen Quality (Active's TFT vs S4's AMOLED)

exempli_gratia

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
Are there any in depth reviews of the S4 Active's screen yet?

I saw the S4 Active briefly at the AT&T store and compared it with the regular S4. The LCD did seem brighter.

The Active had less saturated colors. Some faint details sowed better, like the clouds in the weather widget and the orange on orange AT&T wireless icon.

But angle of view seemed less stable than here S4 AMOLED (color/white washes out a bit at several angles).

Also, is it my imagination, or did black text on white seemed a bit lighter, less sharp, (less contrast?) than the main S4. Almost had to make the Active brighter to get the text to stand out as much.

Last edited:

bmhillegass87

Q&A Team
Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
Re: Screen Quality (TFT vs AMOLED)

I own both a HTC one and a Samsung Active. The reason for the active purchase was I work in the catering business, and constantly am spilling on myself, have stuff on my hands, etc. I did a quick side by side with the s4. It's really a tough call. I think in certain situations amoled does loook nicer, but the marketing behind the active is more an outdoor phone. Amoled in direct sunlight proves very difficult to see. Just a personal preference I am drawn to LCD over amoled
Sometimes the saturation and contrast is just far too much. But, I will agree the s4 active brightness needs to be cranked up to appreciate the sharpness. Going with dynamic display also increases saturation.

exempli_gratia

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site

I own both a HTC one and a Samsung Active. ... I did a quick side by side with the s4. It's really a tough call. I think in certain situations amoled does loook nicer...
The Active is also LCD like the One, right. When you say, amoled, you mean the original S4?

How is the viewing angle and clarity of the Active vs the One?

robstunner

Android Connoisseur
Jun 3, 2010
Visit site