Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Removing the Bloatware From MY S4

I am a newbie as far as rooting phones and really digging down into the operating system.

My S4 came with a bunch of bloatware courtesy of ATT. I want it gone.

Can someone point me to reliable sources (with clear instructions) for rooting my phone and then removing the bloatware safely so I don't brick the phone? I am told some of the bloatware is so weaved into the phone removing will cause more problems than benefits.

I appreciate your time in replying to me.

Thanks!

Default Re: Removing the Bloatware From MY S4

Quote Originally Posted by keely111 View Post
    I am a newbie as far as rooting phones and really digging down into the operating system.

My S4 came with a bunch of bloatware courtesy of ATT. I want it gone.

Can someone point me to reliable sources (with clear instructions) for rooting my phone and then removing the bloatware safely so I don't brick the phone? I am told some of the bloatware is so weaved into the phone removing will cause more problems than benefits.

I appreciate your time in replying to me.

Thanks!
    Why dont you just disable all the AT&T apps instead? no rooting necessary...
    Samsung GS4 GPE | LG Nexus 4 - Sold | GNexus - Sold | HTC One S - Broke | Vibrant - Retired
    Spread some love, Like/Thanks button -->
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

I would like to reclaim the disk space and to tell you the truth I am a minimalist when it comes to apps. I want the least I can get by with. In other words "keep it simple stupid". I would hope by doing this I have a phone that responds quickly with out having to go through unnecessary lines of code.

Thanks for the reply though!