Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Google edition GS4

When you pay $300 more for the Google edition S4 what do you get out of it?

Sent from my XT907
    TomsAndroid likes this.

Default Re: Google edition GS4

The "pure Google" experience, and OS updates pushed out much more quickly, because you don't have to wait for the carriers to test and decide when, or if, they're going to provide the update.
    PLEASE, when asking for help provide as much information as possible. We can't help unless we know what the symptoms are and what you did before they began.

If I've helped you, please click the "Thanks" button.

Have a Galaxy S3? Click here ==> Everything you wanted to know about your Galaxy S3
    Thanked by:
    804hokie likes this.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

I'm new to android so I'm still trying to learn it. What is the "pure Google " experience?

Sent from my XT907

Global Posts
    546 Global Posts
    ROM
    4.1.2 Stock Rooted

"Pure Google" is Android without any manufacturer skin on top (Sense, Touchwiz, Motoblur, etc). Just pure AOSP (Android Open Source Project) goodness.
    Thanked by:

It doesn't make FINANCIAL sense to buy a device for $300 more if you can get the other on discount. But people around here don't make good financial decisions all the time. Leaving carriers for phones with contracts still in place, upgrading too often, etc... LOL. So you cannot reason with finances when it comes to geeks and their smartphones LOL.

But most people that are interested in a "pure Android experience" are those users that would probably be into flashing anyway. The average joe couldn't care less.
    Mobile Devices: Nexus 5 32GB Black
    Carrier: AT&T
    Computer: MacBook Pro (2012) 8GB RAM, 750GB HDD
    Other devices: iPad Mini

The Basics: Unlocking and Rooting - http://forums.androidcentral.com/htc...hing-roms.html
    Thanked by 2:
    The Hustleman and TomsAndroid like this.