1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Should I root GS4 for stock experience?

I have an AT&T Galaxy S4 and love it. Using nova launcher. But I think I'd like to remove the bloatware and get as close to stock Jelly Bean as possible, maybe CM. I don't use the Air features and S Voice, however I love the camera features and use the IR Blaster all the time. Is CM my best choice? Will my phone be faster and smoother? And is there a way to still use the camera features and blaster? Sorry I'm very new to rooting.

Global Posts
    5,581 Global Posts
    ROM
    Slim Kat 4.4.2 Build 3

Default Re: Should I root GS4 for stock experience?

Quote Originally Posted by Bryce Rodgers View Post
    I have an AT&T Galaxy S4 and love it. Using nova launcher. But I think I'd like to remove the bloatware and get as close to stock Jelly Bean as possible, maybe CM. I don't use the Air features and S Voice, however I love the camera features and use the IR Blaster all the time. Is CM my best choice? Will my phone be faster and smoother? And is there a way to still use the camera features and blaster? Sorry I'm very new to rooting.
    CM will remove all of Samsung's features including the IR blaster and camera so if you absolutely need those than you'd be better off with something like which is somewhat of a blend between TouchWiz and stock Android. It's the 3rd ROM listed in the Link.
    Thanked by:

Global Posts
    5,581 Global Posts
    ROM
    Slim Kat 4.4.2 Build 3

Now I want to try this ROM, looks awesome :P
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Thanks a lot it looks pretty great. I think I can do without those features though, so what's the best rom in your own opinion. In terms of stability and similarity to stock and update support etc.. I'm a little nervous about rooting.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using AC Forums mobile app

Global Posts
    5,581 Global Posts
    ROM
    Slim Kat 4.4.2 Build 3