Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Unhappy [US CELLULAR] GS4 Cyanogenmod cannot make calls/messages

In the beginning of December I finally got my first smartphone from US Cellular -- the Samsung Galaxy S4. I work in IT and I'm a huge computer guy, but I've been falling behind on the smartphone scene (I mean, c'mon, I just got one a few months ago). I got used to having it, rooted it, and everything was working fine. Then I learned that, like computers, smartphones can have different OS's (called ROMs) and can be heavily modded like that.

Now, I didn't know very much about it so I did some research to find out the best new ROM for beginners... the Ubuntu of smartphones, if you will. I decided to go with Cyanogenmod, and even found that they had a simple installer on their website.

I installed it this Monday and everything went smoothly. Everything about Cyanogenmod works perfectly... except I can't send/recieve calls or messages. My phone number is now 000-000-0*** (the stars are #'s), my mobile network state is "disconnected" and I'm constantly roaming. I've been searching the web for days trying everything to fix this issue. The most common solution I've seen thus far is to revert the phone back to the original Android ROM it came with. This involves getting the correct drivers (either by yourself or using Kiev), running Odin (the correct version for your phone) and selecting the ~3GB ROM file from Samsungs website for Odin to install on your phone. This doesn't seem too hard -- or so I thought.