S4 volume issues

chrisallanriley

Apr 27, 2013
Visit site
All

Hopefully an Android expert can help me out as me keeping my S4 or handing it back after a few days hangs in the balance on this issue.

I'm coming over to Android after years of iPhone ownership and am enjoying the new experience but I have one issue - the very low volume, specifically through the headphones. I use my phone using headphones at the gym nearly every day and video, music, you tube, whatever is far, far too quiet. Im a techie by trade and have done some research into this. The perfect solution seems to be to hack the default_gain.conf to increase the headphone volume as thats all I need but it doesnt seem to exist on the S4.. Im not interested in rooting the phone or solving the issue using an app.

Has anyone got a workaround? I'd love to keep the phone but, at the moment at least, i'd have to send it back. :'(

Thanks in advance.

Chris

satannik

Aug 27, 2012
Visit site
Are you deaf ? The sound is beyond loud through earphones and the speaker. You must have a bad device. Send it back.

Sent from my rooted Samsung Galaxy S 4

patelkedar91

Dec 17, 2012
Visit site
Are you deaf ? The sound is beyond loud through earphones and the speaker. You must have a bad device. Send it back.

Sent from my rooted Samsung Galaxy S 4
Not a great way to respond to a convert. =/

Anyway, have you tried those same earbuds in another phone? Have you tried switching out earbuds?

Here's a video that looks at the speaker (not the earphones, sorry). Check if this sounds accurate on your device... 11:45-12:00.
Samsung Galaxy S4 In-depth Review And User Experience - YouTube

smooth4lyfe

Trusted Member
Sep 16, 2012
Visit site
All

Hopefully an Android expert can help me out as me keeping my S4 or handing it back after a few days hangs in the balance on this issue.