Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By clintw22
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Launchers

Hey so I've never used launchers before. It looks like apex or nova r the most common. Can anyone that knows about those lay out some pros and/or cons about them, or maybe even using a launcher at all?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Android Central Forums

Global Posts
    696 Global Posts
    ROM
    Carbon Official Nightlies

Default Re: Launchers

Quote Originally Posted by Flashheatmvp3 View Post
    Hey so I've never used launchers before. It looks like apex or nova r the most common. Can anyone that knows about those lay out some pros and/or cons about them, or maybe even using a launcher at all?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Android Central Forums
    Pros of using launchers:

• More to unlimited customization options
    • Provides more homescreen functionality
    • Many are free and offer all sorts of features
    • Wide variety to choose from

Cons of using launchers:

• Some are not compatible with certain devices
    • A few are highly overpriced. (Especially Next Launcher)
    • Some are known to lock up the phone occasionally

Also, concerning Nova Launcher and Apex Launcher, both are based on the stock ICS/Jelly Bean launchers and offer more customization features such as changing app icons as well as renaming apps, unlimited homescreens, gesture controls, and the usual cosmetic changes. Try each of them on your handset before choosing which one is right for you, as both launchers, similar as they are, have varying performance and may work well on some devices and poorly on others. You need to be aware that the mentioned launchers are only usable on 4.x.x devices.
    Devices (Their ROMs and respective mods, if any):

Samsung Galaxy SII (SGH-T989/Hercules): Carbon (4.4.2 Official Nightlies), UBER Kernel 2Ghz, ViPER4Android FX [daily driver]