Hello, Im a newbie to this forum but it has helped me a few times when ive done general searches. Ive registered now and I need to ask a question.

My S4 charges normally with its own charger and USB, it charges from my old HTC charger, no problems. Now I've used my old in car charger (used for the HTC) to charge it fine, I brought a solar panel charger for when im fishing over a weekend and the first time the internal battery had been charged by the sun i plugged it into my S4 and it charged it to 100% in about 2 and a half hours. Ive tried to do it again and nothing?? so i thought that the solar battery might npot be charged so in order to test it I plugged my wifes S3 in and bingo it started charging. Ive brought a new in car cradle kit that comes with a small cigarette lighter plug with a USB socket to attach the kits USB cable into. Again it worked one but since hasnt yet does work on my wifes S3?????? because of this I tried my old HTC one in the car which is the old style giant plug in cigarette charger and bingo it charged my phone????. So now im confused, can anyone help with this as Ive spent the last 2 hours looking online at different conflicting problems and solutiions although please bear in mind i'm not electronically minded.

Many Thanks

Luke
    06-05-2013 06:07 AM
    Wow, that does seem odd... It does sound, however, that it might be a hardware issue (as in take-it-in-to-repair-or-get-warranty-replacement). I charge mine with a car charger, an old BlackBerry charger at work, the original charger at Home, and I even use a friend's Moto charger when I'm at his house. I did use a solar-powered battery once but it was crap (the battery, anyway).

So, here's what I'd try frist:

1) Clean the USB port in your phone with a soft, dry brush. Maybe some dirt is interfering.

2) Car USB chargers are usually 0.5A in output power; your original charger is 2A. Try to find a wall charger that's 0.5A and see if THAT works.