New to Galaxy(and android) - Must Have Basic Apps?

Daniel Jumper

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm new to android and the galaxy and I could use some tips! I'm looking for good app suggestions. I'm a tech savvy fellow not looking for media, social media, or games, but rather the best basic functionality or utility apps you know about.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm new to android and the galaxy and I could use some tips! I'm looking for good app suggestions. I'm a tech savvy fellow not looking for media, social media, or games, but rather the best basic functionality or utility apps you know about.

Welcome to the forums, and Android!!

I like Google's apps more than I do Samsung's. Keep is a note taking app. I really like that over SMemo. This one may sound strange, but I have Google Calendar as well. I use Samsung's to look at my events, but use Google to add them. Why? Because Google makes adding an event much simpler. Samsung adds too many details, and the default is always the Samsung Calendar. Yes you can shift it to Google, but there is no changing of defaults.
Other than that the only other productivity app I can suggest if Kingsoft Office. That app allows for editing documents you have on your device. You can then transfer any document to your phone, and while the stock program opens it, Kingsoft allows for changing anything you want.

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi everyone,