Why can't I send pictures via text?

packerbacker

Sep 20, 2010
Visit site
I searched the forum and did find a possible answer to this (there are size limits as to what you can send via text). However, when I try to send a picture, it never gives me an error message saying the file is too large - the little circle keeps spinning and spinning forever until I cancel it. I just wanted someone to confirm that my issue is just that my pictures are too big rather than something being wrong with my phone. (I did seem to have this issue with my original Galaxy Fascinate like three years ago.)

I really didn't want to sound like a noob here! :p

Jennifer Stough

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2013
Visit site
Most phones automatically resize the pictures to a resolution acceptable for mms...I suggest going into you messaging app settings> mms> and see what you have the maximum size set to.

tvouge

Feb 9, 2012
Visit site
Yea, I have the same problem. It is the picture size. I'm able to forward pictures sent to me, but anything taken on my phone stalls like you describe. I'm not sure what the file size limit is, but I've just taken to emailing photos instead. I believe the maximuim size you can send on verizon is 1.2 mb, but their help faq wasn't very specific/helpfull.

Go Pack Go!

Posted via Android Central App

packerbacker

Sep 20, 2010
Visit site
Most phones automatically resize the pictures to a resolution acceptable for mms...I suggest going into you messaging app settings> mms> and see what you have the maximum size set to.

Under MMS (in the Messaging App settings) I only see these fields (with check boxes):
Delivery Reports, Auto-retrieve, Romating auto-retrieve, MMS alert, and Group Conversations

Help. :(

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
Oh well that's dumb!

Yeah depends on the phone.. Not sure why. With my Sprint S3 I could send over wifi.. An update came out and I couldn't anymore and it will always need mobile data.