S-Voice "voice type" WILL NOT change!

rmausser

Jul 7, 2013
Visit site
I really hate the robotic voice of S-Voice.

So I learned how you can download and install high-quality voices in the "Language and Input > Text to Speech" settings of the phone.

I downloaded and installed the High Quality US voice, applied. Nothing. Still robotic voice in S-Voice and Google Maps etc.

I downloaded and installed the High Quality UK voice. applied. Nothing. Still robotic voice in S-Voice and Google Maps etc.

Its weird because in the "Listen to Example" in the Text-To-Speech options it works great, I can hear the new voice.

Elsewhere its no-go.

What gives??

vicfcano

Feb 28, 2014
Visit site
Posted this in Jan and no reply huh? I'm new to android and find this out too with my Note 3 and, suffice it to say, I have the exact same problem. Were you able to figure out this little hick up? (If you don't mind my asking of course)

vicfcano

Feb 28, 2014
Visit site
Try IVONA text to speech. Much better voice than the galaxy robot

Posted via Android Central App

Thanks for the suggestion Joe. I gave getting a third part app a thought (and that's what I'll probably end up doing) but things like this tends to bother me to no end. Why in the world doesn't my phone work the way it's supposed to?

Casio750

Apr 25, 2014
Visit site
Did you ever find out how to change the S-Voice's voice? No matter what I try, it continues to use the old Samsung text to speech engine.

ladix

May 5, 2014
Visit site
I know this was started in January but I thought I'd create an account and let everyone know what worked for me - since searching for a solution brought me here and it looks like someone else recently came here with this question.

After I downloaded the HD tts files, I tested it in S Voice and got the same old voice.
While in S Voice I hit the menu button and chose Settings. It brought up an S Voice settings menu.