Horrible battery life?

anon(5518418)

May 30, 2013
Visit site
I got an S4 i9505 replacement yesterday from my insurance company. It effectively seems to be new phone and battery, anyway when I turned it on it had 70% battery left, I logged into my various things and it sat about downloading and restoring and installing a 5.0.1 update, the process took about 30 mins and at the end of the 30 mins I had 9% battery left, I connected to the charger and it was full again in 30mins which I found odd.

Anyway let it sit on the charger all night, took it off this morning and with 2 mins of screen on time I am already at 94%, I can't see how this thing will last the day.

I am not a newbie, I have things like sync and GPS etc turned off and screen brightness lowered however in saying that even at the lowest setting it seems very bright.

Any ideas?

extraclass

Feb 13, 2011
Visit site
It still could be the battery! How old is the battery? Usually good for about 500 charges or about 18 months of charging every day. You can get a Samsung OEM replacement on Ebay for $5. GPS apps and Mapping apps eats battery life. Press the HOME button a couple seconds and see how many apps are still running. Press the CLOSE ALL button in the lower right corner to turn off all apps.

Search for "battery" in this forum to find a lot of information about battery life!

anon(5518418)

May 30, 2013
Visit site
Battery is only about 2 weeks old. I have found the problem. Touchwiz. I installed the GPE Rom, difference is day and night, My phone has been of the charger now for 11 hours and is at 80% and that also has 40 mins screen on time.

Oct 10, 2015
Visit site