sweeping out the old

DWFII

Oct 7, 2016
Visit site
I am fairly new to smartphones and this is my first post here...be kind.

This might be a broad question with many answers but I need to start somewhere.

I just bought a Samsung S4 for my wife.

It is "pre-owned" from Swappa. When I got it the battery was completely discharged.
Charged it overnight and when I powered it on I saw that several screens had "mottos" on them such as "Life Companion", etc., and there were a few apps (which may or may not be third party) that I know my wife will never use--such as "chat."

I'm a minimalist and I don't want to start out with other people's preferences and idiosyncrasies...

How do I get rid of these unwanted apps, personalizations and screens...is there a way to reset the phone back to a "clean" default, factory interface? (didn't get a user manual with this phone although I have downloaded one in pdf format)

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forums. There are going to be a lot of stock apps that have been put in place by Samsung. A lot that will be like duplicates. Calendar, emails, etc.

As for removing them; they can't be completely removed, however, some can be disabled without getting any extra apps. There will be some that an extra app will be needed. You can look at this app: https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...om.ospolice.packagedisablerpro&token=JXAul428

DWFII

Oct 7, 2016
Visit site
Welcome to the forums. There are going to be a lot of stock apps that have been put in place by Samsung. A lot that will be like duplicates. Calendar, emails, etc.

As for removing them; they can't be completely removed, however, some can be disabled without getting any extra apps. There will be some that an extra app will be needed. You can look at this app: https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...om.ospolice.packagedisablerpro&token=DPNwa_jN

Thanks for taking th etime to respond and thanks for the welcome...