S5 Active SM-G870A, can I get some root help?

Windrac

Nov 23, 2015
Visit site
S5 Active SM-G870A Root Help!

Good morning!

First time poster, long time admirer. I'm having quite a bit of trouble trying to root my Galaxy S5 Active G870A. I consider myself technically literate - I'm a ham radio operator, I've built computers, I'm an engineering student at Purdue, and I have installed / modded OSs on PCs before - but I'm totally new to mobile phone modding.

Once long ago, I had my phone rooted with towelroot, but then it updated and I lost root and have not been able to get it back since. (I searched this forum, with no explicit luck) I've tried towelroot with no success, getting the error "phone not supported". My end goal is to install CM11 or another good bloatware-free and battery-saving ROM of anybody's recommendation.

Further phone specs:
Android 4.4.2
Baseband: G870AUCU1ANG3
Kernel: 3.4.0-2304514
Build #: KOT49H.G870AUCU1ANG3

I freaking love this phone - I just want the bloatware gone and a refresh since I've had the phone for a while. I like the look of CM.

Thanks for the help!

Windrac

Nov 23, 2015
Visit site
Re: S5 Active SM-G870A Root Help!

Don't think so. It seems that almost all of the information out there on downgrading is pertinent to the 5.0 > 4.4.2 downgrade rather than a 4.4.2 > 4.3 downgrade.

ironass

Mar 9, 2015
Visit site

Good morning!

First time poster, long time admirer. I'm having quite a bit of trouble trying to root my Galaxy S5 Active G870A. I consider myself technically literate - I'm a ham radio operator, I've built computers, I'm an engineering student at Purdue, and I have installed / modded OSs on PCs before - but I'm totally new to mobile phone modding.