Updating despite my carrier

RealKromey

Apr 4, 2017
Visit site
My Galaxy S5 has been stuck on Android 4.4.2 since the day I bought it over 2 years ago. My carrier -- GCI; unless you're from Alaska you've most likely never even heard of them -- never releases updates for their phones. You'd think I'd have learned by now...

Anyway, I've never done this before, but now I'm stuck with the choice of either trying to update my phone to (at least) 5.0, or leaving my shiny new Bluetooth device in a box indefinitely because it's useless without the app that requires 5.0 or later.

I've looked up my model (SM-G900T) on SamMobile, and found the firmware images there. What concerns me is that the CSC listed there for my current version does not match the CSC on my phone. I'm worried that if I use one of these to flash my phone, it will no longer work, even though the model number matches. I kind of need it to keep working, since it is, y'know, my phone.

My information:
  • Model: SM-G900T
  • Carrier: GCI (Alaska, USA)
  • AP: G900MUBU1AUMS
  • CP: G900TUVU1ANCH
  • CSC: G900MUUB1ANCE

I tried using Smart Switch, but it seemed to be unable to find any available update (not surprising, since as already mentioned my carrier refuses to release any). So I'm guessing that I'll need to use Odin.

Using Odin and one of the SM-G900T images available from SamMobile (or Samsung-Updates, which seems to have the same list), will an upgrade keep my data, or will it wipe my phone? The stuff I care about is already backed up, I'd just hope to not have to re-install every app again, especially as this device is my second factor to a lot of my online accounts.

Alternatively, since this model seems to be T-Mobile's (I'm guessing GCI gets their handsets through them), if I could find somebody with T-Mobile service and borrow their SIM, would I be able to update OTA that way? I'm guessing not since it's not actually a T-Mobile phone...