Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Standby Mode Notifications?

Hi,

I'm a Android newbie, coming over from an iPhone 4S.

On the iPhone 4S, you could get brief Notification alerts right on your phone while it's in standby mode. Example, if I get a news alert, my phone's screen will automatically go to the lockscreen and show me a 5 second message with the alert in it. If I do nothing, it'll turn back off again into standby mode.

I noticed on the S5, all I get is the beep sound and a blinking blue or red light. Is there a way to add an actual 5 second alert window or panel on the lockscreen whenever I get an alert?

Just curious. I'm still learning how this phone works.

Default Re: Standby Mode Notifications?

Hi and welcome! What kind of notifications? I know you said something like news but what app are you trying to get notifications from? .

Sent from my T-Mobile Note 3 using AC Forums.
    Sent from my T-Mobile Note 4 using AC Forums.

There are many threads about this, hope they help you.

Able to preview text messages on lock/home screen?

switched from Iphone to Galaxy S5, need some help please

Posted via Android Central App
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Quote Originally Posted by Almeuit View Post
    Hi and welcome! What kind of notifications? I know you said something like news but what app are you trying to get notifications from? .

Sent from my T-Mobile Note 3 using AC Forums.
    Well, for one, the CNN app. On my iPhone 4s, whenever "Breaking News" came across, it would automatically flash on my phone in Standby mode. It would automatically go to the Lockscreen and show the alert message for 5 seconds before fading off again.