Wireless on the S5

MamaBear2014

May 14, 2014
Visit site
I'm brand new to smart phones, but am an intermediate PC user for years and have done my own home networking and all.

So I just got my first smart phone, the S5! ( previously only had a simple cell phone )

This thing is gorgeous! Takes some nice photos too! LOVE the front and back cameras, for selfies of my bird when we go for walks!

Been using it for a few days and love what I've figured out so far.

So I set it up to connect to my home wifi, hoping I can transfer files that way, instead of having to use the USB cable in two places ( near my purse and at my PC ). But I don't see how to "see" the connection in My Computer on my Windows 7 PC, so I can transfer the files. Am I doing this right? It says the connection is set up fine and connected, on the phone.

Lucy enjoying the sunshine 5-14-14.jpg

sjaduae

Apr 10, 2014
Visit site
I find BT is easier but you can try WiFi direct just go to file browser or gallery select the files and then use the share icon and select method BT/Wifi/drop box etc depending if you have other apps or cloud accounts

MamaBear2014

May 14, 2014
Visit site
Until I learn more, I need to use direct transfer. For example, I use Servant Salamander on my PC, which is a modernized 2 panel replacement for the old Norton Commander file panels. I can ftp things up to my ISP for my website changes. I can even go to CoffeeCup's S-Drive. So I was hoping there was a way to see the S5 from my PC's Windows 7 "My Computer", at least, so I could move files back and forth to the S5. It just requires being able to see the S5 directories from my PC, which I thought was the whole point of connecting to my home WiFi?

winnersmw

Oct 11, 2010
Visit site