Galaxy S5 set warranty bit: kernel

Robin Skaggs

Nov 18, 2012
Visit site
Hi all. I'm new at this and looking for some help. My rooted S5 is stuck on the startup screen with set warranty bit: kernel in yellow at the top left. I've tried flashing the stock firmware in Odin, but then I get a recovery error and have to flash a recovery. I've been using philz and as soon as I flash that it goes right back to the startup with the kernel message. I've been unable to use my phone for 2 days. I've tried to flash a few kernels in Odin but they either give me a md5 binary error or freeze Odin altogether. Please help!! Any suggestions are welcome!

jpr

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site
The message means you tripped Knox, which of course you did by rooting. You are probably best off going over to the xda developer forum and see if you can find a fix over there.

ab304945

Dec 20, 2010
Visit site
That kernel bit will always be there, it is there on mine to, everything works.

Go to xda and look for your phones stock image and flash it with oding

pjwbur

Jan 26, 2017
Visit site
I have a similar problem. Galaxy S5, not rooted, boot to Set Warranty Bit : kernel in the top left corner. I cannot get it to boot to recovery menu. Every time I try, only the Set Warranty Bit : kernel comes up. The device is now out of warranty, so I can't take it in for repair. Any suggestions?

Andy Berlin

Jan 27, 2017
Visit site
If you want to keep your data,i would first install the TWRP Recovery. Just install the Samsung USB-Driver and Odin on your PC.