Text's use data plan?

steve1279

May 25, 2014
Visit site
Im no expert on these data plans or anything techie really. I had the unlimited plan with verizon,lost it with the upgrade. Im at 6gb a month so is wife. I barely go online to facebook and youtube but i go through my plan apparently in only a few days. So i've been turning off the mobile data icon on my phone and not going online unless im home where i'll connect to my wifi. But when i want to send texts or receive any that include images i can't, it says i need mobile data turned on. Can someone explain why i can't send pics in a text without and not wifi? Is there a way to check to see how much data i might be using unknowingly even with the mobile data off?

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Sending pics via text makes it an MMS message, not SMS. Android needs mobile data on to send and receive MMS--it doesn't work over wi-fi.

Eclipse2K

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
Sending pics via text makes it an MMS message, not SMS. Android needs mobile data on to send and receive MMS--it doesn't work over wi-fi.

To add to this I've never seen MMS actually count towards your data allotment either. You must have data turned on though.

Samsung Galaxy S5 (Verizon)

AZgl1500

Feb 4, 2011
Visit site

I am going to differ with you on this.

I have repeatedly sent MMS messages with DATA turned OFF and only using WiFi.

I just now did it to prove my point by sending myself a MMS message.

Here is the screen shot showing the sent message and the received message.

I am using Go SMS Pro application.

Attachments

• MMS via WiFi.jpg
    MMS via WiFi.jpg
    144.1 KB · Views: 39

Eclipse2K

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
I am going to differ with you on this.

I have repeatedly sent MMS messages with DATA turned OFF and only using WiFi.

I just now did it to prove my point by sending myself a MMS message.

Here is the screen shot showing the sent message and the received message.

I am using Go SMS Pro application.