Quick to reset?

IBMJunkman

May 10, 2014
Visit site
I am new to the Android world. Got my S5 2 months ago. Been in PCs for decades and iOS for a few years. I am amazed at the number of times I see a reset as the 2nd solution to a phone problem. Using the factory reset CD on a Windows PC is the absolute last thing you want to do.

It took me a full weekend to get my phone set up. I don't want to lose all that work in an attempt to fix a problem. It was suggested to me to reset my phone when something happened with my pass code. Luckily, in that set up weekend, I had signed up to the Google and Samsung sites not knowing what they were for. I used one to unlock my phone.

Is a factory reset the norm in the Android/Samsung world?

VDub2174

Moderator Captain
Trusted Member
Dec 28, 2009
Visit site
I wouldn't say it's the "norm" in the Android world. I would only suggest a factory reset after all other avenues were used but didn't work.

mhunter6378

May 15, 2013
Visit site