My S5 camera is capable of close focus (macro) but consistently fails to do so in real life

john12971a

Oct 7, 2015
Visit site
I'm consistently disappointed in my S5's camera for close focus objects. There doesn't appear to be a macro setting - why not?

Here's a typical scene, I wanted to focus on these flowers dangling from some twigs. I tapped on the screen to focus on the specific point, yet the S5 was having none of it. I'm an experienced photographer, and any other camera would focus where I want it to. But not the S5 - it might hunt in and out for focus, and then decide that it wants to focus to backfround/infinity rather than my intended subject.

Does anyone know why the focus procedure on this camera is so bad? I know that it is capable of close focus becase I took a photo of my glove at close range (3 inches) and it came out sharp. The problem seems to be when you have a range of objects in the scene - even when you tell the camera where to focus, it still decides to ignore you and focus further back in the scene. This doesn't happen on other phones. It looks as though the contrast detection routines are really badly implemented.

Can anyone else share any tips on how to focus the camera where I want it to? I'm using the native camera app. Perhaps there's a better app out there which focuses where I want it to, or perhaps even offers manual focus or focus lock. Very disappointed in this aspect of the S5. See photo below

flowers.jpg

BlurryEyed

Jul 2, 2012
Visit site
DUDE!

I have had the exact same experience. I'll tap to focus, and sometimes it will focus on the object, but then when taking the picture, it re-focuses, and loses the object I'm trying to capture. WTF!!

Another issue - I use the Chase mobile app to deposit checks. Do you know how frustrating it is to try and take an up close shot of a check with that app? Ridiculous...

BlurryEyed

Jul 2, 2012
Visit site
A comment at the bottom of that article was actually helpful as well: