New android user and confused

katiheefner

Apr 14, 2015
Visit site
Hi!
I have been posting and reading many of these threads about battery life. Some I see can get 14 hours and 5 or 6 hours of screen time....HOW? I have changed settings, etc. and nothing seems to be really working. Is this an issue with the software or is this just part of life? I am a heavy user of chrome, facebook, instagram, texting, and email and see my percentage drop 1% fairly quickly. When I take my phone off the charger it says I have roughly 10 hours of use but screen time I end up with less than 2 hours.

ecfritts

Aug 25, 2014
Visit site
I'm far from an expert...however this should not be part of life. I had the Galaxy S5 and the battery life was awesome! I know this battery is smaller but I don't think we should be experiencing the short battery life & drain most of us seem to be seeing. Hopefully they fix this soon. Otherwise the phone is really good and I really like the Android experience vs Apple. That being said I only have 5 days left to be able to return the phone (14 day period with AT&T).

gorgalis

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
From my experience, Facebook absolutely murders your battery. If you are rooted, download Wakelock Detector, if you aren't you can download it and use it by connecting your phone to a computer and entering a few simple commands in the command prompt and the terminal on your phone. The directions are linked on the app page in the play store.

Also, check your battery stats and see if something is keeping the phone awake. Actually you should do this before you do anything with the wakelock detector... but I am guessing you will see your phone is awake most of the day.

Kalvin Kerns

Trusted Member
Feb 14, 2014
Visit site