What are the Pros and Cons of Verizon Simultaneous Voice & Data on Samsung Devices?

berdinkerdickle

Nov 18, 2008
Visit site
What are the pros and cons of the different ways Samsung with Verizon does simultaneous voice and data?
I understand the previous Verizon Samsung devices did it with two radios.
How is the way they're doing it now better or worse than the way they did it previously?

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
It's better for them because one day they want to be only LTE. So this is like then future proofing.

The only down side is if you have a weak LTE signal you could get dropped calls... Otherwise there really isn't a down side.

berdinkerdickle

Nov 18, 2008
Visit site
I've been using Google Voice for several years. My business number rings this phone through Google voice.
Are the calls I make through Google voice similar to the way Samsung is doing simultaneous voice and data now?

bubbad3

May 26, 2011
Visit site
Not sure about your area, but in mine, the sound quality is terrible. The ringer alone is distorted, but once the conversation starts? The voices echo, or sound computerized, or sometimes it sounds like the speaker is blown out. I took my phone in to Verizon thinking it was defective, but they acknowledged that the sound quality isn't great right now.

Posted via the Android Central App

chevyman29

Jun 20, 2011
Visit site
There is no pros it's all cons.
There wasn't anything wrong with the way they did it before. Doing it this way probably somehow puts more money in Verizon's pocket since the hard ware is probably cheaper to make. They now have one less antenna than before.

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
There is no pros it's all cons.
There wasn't anything wrong with the way they did it before. Doing it this way probably somehow puts more money in Verizon's pocket since the hard ware is probably cheaper to make. They now have one less antenna than before.