Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Snipester
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Questions about rooting

Hi everyone, i'm pretty new to the Android world, i've bought my first android phone about 2 months ago, the Galaxy S3, so i started taking in consideration to root it, thing is, i really don't know anything about it, so i wanted to ask some questions. First of all, does it slow down the phone? What do I gain if i root my phone? Will the warranty just go away? Can I keep updating my phone normally or do I have to update it with some rooted firmware? Till now i've had a jailbroken iPhone 4 so that's why i'm asking these questions. Thank you for your answers. Oh, and, most important question of all, what is rooting? Lol

Global Posts
    9,696 Global Posts
    ROM
    touchejiz

Default Re: Questions about rooting

If its only rooted, u will get stock updates. Wont make it faster but u can delete ANY app including bloat so use with caution.
    Guarantee is void while rooted but aparentjly its easily unrooted
    Dont worry

Unbranded international s3 with Official JB. Paisley, Slotland, Western Europe :beer:
    GT-I9300, UK
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Ok, interesting, so i decided to go on and root it, and i stumbled upon this custom ROM:
    Would it be good? Also, does installing a custom ROM erase everything from the phone?

Global Posts
    9,696 Global Posts
    ROM
    touchejiz

Never heard of it but yeah so once rooted. Use an app like Titanium Backup to back up all your apps and their settings. To Ext Sd, saves a lot of hasstle

Unbranded international s3 with Official JB. Paisley, Slotland, Western Europe :beer:
    GT-I9300, UK
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Done, already been through 3 roms, right now i'm running the AllianceROM, i'm starting to understand why people like to root their phone..
    Thanked by:
    funkylogik likes this.

Global Posts
    9,696 Global Posts
    ROM
    touchejiz

Lol