google books, nook, or kindle app?

alanierrn

Jan 9, 2013
Visit site
ok, I have had my tab 2 for a couple of weeks now and I am ready to buy a book to read on it? Suggestions on which app to use? I know they are all similar, I'm just concerned about being able to read the book while I am offline. I know Google books allows this, didn't know about kindle or nook? Do any of them allow you to move the book to the SD card? Thanks!

anon(5486833)

Dec 18, 2012
Visit site
Nook has a cloud storage system for books and you can download them using the nook app for offline reading. Im no expert but I believe in the nook app there is no way to point it to another storage area e.g. sd cards, but again Im no expert. Hope this helps.

Little Darwin

Jun 11, 2011
Visit site
The Kindle app uses a cloud, and also allows offline reading. I don't know if you can move books to the SD card, but honestly, books (unless graphically based) take up so little room, I never bothered to look into it. I see no need to keep more that 4 or 5 books at a time on my device.

I know with the Amazon MP3 player you can manually move the files to the SD card, but that doesn't guarantee that the same possibilities exist for the Kindle app. If there isn't a definitive answer here later, I may take a look and see what I can do.

I don't know about the possibilities for the Nook app, but you can try the Kindle app, and go out and find a free book to read on Amazon. There are always some floating around, so that might be a good way to decide if the Kindle app is for you. There is an Android app "Free Kindle Books and Tips" and there are regularly free books that the author finds that are worth downloading in various genres.

My guess is that the best decision would be based on available content and the related prices, or if you already have some eBooks on Amazon or B&N that would help me decide...

Little Darwin

Jun 11, 2011
Visit site