free 3g internet

sharbev

Aug 9, 2011
Visit site
I'm curious to know if there's a way to get free 3g internet? Someone told me yes if I root my phone but I have no idea about any of that stuff. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have the samsung replenish through sprint

firehak

Jul 2, 2011
Visit site
No, you have to go through the companies towers to get the signal to begin with. You only get what you're paying for.

sharbev

Aug 9, 2011
Visit site
Ok. Thanks. It was confusing, b/c my phone through tmobile still works after an entire yr (the internet, not the voice part)

firehak

Jul 2, 2011
Visit site
Well, then sorry. Maybe you can, I'm pretty new to Android and data plans. Never cared much for phones until I started playing around with them

firehak

Jul 2, 2011
Visit site
Rooting gives you elevated privileges on your phone. Most users have no use for it unless you see an app the says it requires root.

bodyman

Aug 4, 2011
Visit site
Don't feel bad, I'm so phone slow its ridiculous. I'm still trying to figure out the purpose of roooting lol

The purpose of rooting is to allow you the ability to do more with your phone. Like using Titanium backup to back up your files to you sd card. Or to remove the excessive bloatware that you never use that is on the /system (which is locked, not rewritable). And to flash roms. I will be working on roms for this phone soon, got to clean computer up and install ubuntu so I can. (Tired of looking at windoze anyway)

sharbev

Aug 9, 2011
Visit site
Ah ok I see. I don't think I need rooting. (Unless it will give me more space on this thing lol) kinda mad I paid for groove ip b/c someone told me it won't work unless phone is rooted

firehak

Jul 2, 2011
Visit site