Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GenericMessage
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Stupid noob question - will rooting void my warranty (EVO)

I am picking up my EVO 4G tomorrow and figure the best time, If I am going to root it, would be when it is brand new. It is my first Android smartphone. In fact, it's my second smartphone ever, first being an iPhone (if you can consider it a smartphone).

Question is, if it ever had to go in 'for service' and it was rooted would they deny me service? Will it void the warranty?

Also, the recovery mode (not sure what it's called), does that allow you to convert back to stock?

Sorry I'm new to Android... :-(

Global Posts
    134 Global Posts

yes sirr it will void your warranty.
    GenericMessage

Honestly? Yes.

Many in here will try to tell you otherwise though. Try not to listen to them
    Retired Moderator

Global Posts
    2,393 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM 7 / Incredikernel .37

will it void your warranty by root? yes. Is it possible to unroot and then bring it in for service? most likely.

if you are going to root and are concerned about what might happen if you have to bring it in to get fixed or replaced, find a way to unroot before you root. I am not sure if the EVO is different than the droid when it comes to root access and unrooting but if it is the same all it takes it placing an update.zip file (that can probably be found on many android forums) on the root of the sd card and then flashing it through a recovery. Just make sure you get the right update.zip file because i am sure there are many that are used for other purposes like other roms etc...