black screen

Mitch Mays

Nov 14, 2011
Visit site
Hi i am new to android and have a galaxy s from sprint i cleared the memory from the hard reset menu and set everything back up however when setting up my gmail account i get an error that the application needs to force close so i let it. then it goes to the lock screen and everything looks normal. however, when i unlock it there is only a black screen and the notification bar at the top. please help

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Hi i am new to android and have a galaxy s from sprint i cleared the memory from the hard reset menu and set everything back up however when setting up my gmail account i get an error that the application needs to force close so i let it. then it goes to the lock screen and everything looks normal. however, when i unlock it there is only a black screen and the notification bar at the top. please help

Sounds like something got messed up for some reason... I think another factory reset is in order....

Follow these instructions...

Power off/pull the battery on device.

Press and Hold Power Down+Camera+Power button for a few seconds to boot into stock recovery.

Navigate in stock recovery by using Volume Up/Down and make selections with the HOME (capacitive key).

Then select factory reset/wipe (I forget how its exactly worded)...

Then reboot when done....

That should resolve the problem...

Report back with results...

w_brownson11

Jun 22, 2011
Visit site
I have sort of the same problem, except my phone is rooted and wont connect to my computer. i get an error message that says usb device not recodnised... so i cant odin reset. it charges through the port, just wont connect to the pc to flash stuff...:'(

ratsttam

May 17, 2010
Visit site