New to Epic - battery life, DRM service, wired tether?

Stearmandriver

May 9, 2011
Visit site
Hi all,

Great forum! I'm new to the Epic and Android in general, coming from a (hacked and modded to the hilt) Palm Pre. I'm trying to get up to speed on where things currently stand on a few issues. These are probably not related, but are probably tied together by my general newbieness, so I thought I'd ask em all in one thread.

1. Battery Life - coming from the pre, I'm used to this lol. But of course I'm always looking to maximize. I keep reading about the DRM service introduced with Froyo. Is this thing still a problem in the current EC05 build? How do I stop it? I think I understand that, once rooted, I'll be able to kill it but it'll keep coming back? Is a custom ROM the only way to get rid of it entirely? Any recommendations for one that's totally stable and retains stock functionality?

2. Wired tether - doesn't work even with drivers installed, Sprint error code etc. I've found the modded wired tether package that's supposed to fix this problem, but they all say they're for the EB build of Froyo. Anyone know if this will work for the current EC build as well?

Thanks for reading. I'd be glad for any advice or suggestions on any of this stuff.

Thanks,
Joe

jd195

Sep 1, 2010
Visit site
You can kill the DRM service by (from the home screen) going to menu > Settings > Applications > Running services then finr the OmaDRMconfig and tap that and it'll stop that (Rooted or not). In the most recent Froyo builds, I haven't noticed a battery life either way with that and I think I remember others saying the same. I think most custom ROMs leave it in because if you take it out completely it causes more problems.

For Wired tether to work, I believe you'll have to be Rooted (not sure if the Sprint tether works on wired or if it's only wireless). Not sure about any other issues with it, since I've always used the wireless tether when I need to.