OTA update error

cowgirl66

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site
Hello, I have searched all afternoon on the internet for some help with an error I'm getting. I have gotten 4 or 5 OTA updates that all end up going to screen with android laying down with red exclamation point. I pushed on power and volume up and then apply update from /cache, it starts installing and then stop and I get E: Error in tmp/sideload/package.zip (status 7). I am on 4.0.4. From my many searches I think there might be something wrong with my recovery image but my phone is not rooted or unlocked. I did buy it from ebay so I'm wondering if maybe they rooted and then unrooted before they sent the phone to me. Nothing was mentioned in the add about the phone being rooted. I have rooted phones before so I'm not a complete noob but I just can't seem to figure this out. First off what is the OTA since I know it's not Jelly Bean and I'm running 4.0.4. I will contact the seller but I still need to get this fixed. I really appreciate any help. Thanks

cowgirl66

Sep 5, 2010
Visit site
Something I just thought of. I don't ever update my google apps, other than gmail and maps, because I don't use them. That couldn't be causing a problem could it?

Citrik

Aug 9, 2012
Visit site
I've been having the same issue. My phone was rooted with a custom recovery when I bought it. I unrooted it and applied the stock recovery back with Wug's toolkit, yet I still get that error whenever I try to update OTA. I'm not too concerned with it though, as I believe this update is minimal, and gets rid of universal search. Now, if I can't get Jellybean OTA, then I'll be upset.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
I don't have the link off the top of my head at the moment, but I believe ShabbyPenguin has package available for the Sprint GNex with the stock factory images.