GPS - Sensor Aiding

rlanza1054

Samsung - SPH-D710
Aug 18, 2011
Visit site
Well take this with a grain of salt done I'm a newbie to Android.

I think it means it will also use the cellular towers to triangulate position along with the GPS signal.

Hence it can find position fast er with the extra data and as it states saves battery power in the process.

Rob

Now let's see if someone can confirm my explanation or provide a different explanation.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

michaeljc70

Mar 25, 2011
Visit site
Sensor aiding is different than using networks (cellular or wireless) to find your position (that is the top option in settings).

As I understand it, Sensor aiding uses the gyroscope type sensors to help determine your positions. This is useful if you go underground or in a building where it cannot get a gps signal. For example, it will use the GPS chip until you get into a underground garage. Then the sensor will try to figure out where you are from that point.

I guess it can also save battery life as it uses less juice than the GPS chip. It does state that it works best when the phone is pointing forward.

Personally, I have it off. If I need GPS in a place with a poor or no gps singal, then I would just turn it before entering that situation.

jacief

Sep 13, 2011
Visit site