Boost mobile I.D. Keeps trying to install itself, can i stop this?

Feb 9, 2013
Visit site
Hi fellow android users,
I have the E4GT on boost, and my phone constantly (several times daily) prompts me to install Boost mobile I.D. It seems to have downloaded itself as I have never initiated it.
My question is this: Can i make this app stop bugging me without rooting my phone? I am still new to android and don't know the first thing about rooting and am afraid I will screw up my beautiful phone lol. I'm including a screen shot of the message that always pops up.

Any assistance you can offer will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks guys!
B

Sent from my SPH-D710BST using Android Central Forums

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1361121378029.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1361121378029.jpg
    13.6 KB · Views: 144

GMJeff

Jan 25, 2011
Visit site
It sounds like nagware that gets installed automatically on their devices.

So yes, to answer your question, you will probably have to root to eliminate the nagging pop up screen.

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Android Central Forums

sgeezer

Jun 12, 2013
Visit site
Actually this is an easy fix if you're willing to root your phone. I had this same annoying pop-up multiple times a day and didn't want to give in to Boost and install it. Especially after the Boost customer service rep told me that "Mobile ID is required for your phone to function properly and you must install it." What a load of BS... Rooting isn't difficult or dangerous (if you follow the instructions), though it most likely will void the warranty on your phone.

Here's what I did. My phone is a Samsung Galaxy Rush, so these instructions reflect that. Check Google for rooting instructions for your specific phone. They should be similar. I got rid of Boost Mobile ID and other annoying bloatware as well.

ROOT THE PHONE