Trying to install CM10 M1 ROM, almost bricked my phone....

asscancer

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
So it was stuck on the cyanogen mod thing for like 15 mins luckily I made a backup of my stock rom and now everything is cool.

I tried to install it through wmrecovery (cyanogen mod), which is the correct thing to do right?

i put the zip file into the root of the sd card and then selected it through wmrecovery, and it seemed to install fine but like i said it rebooted and kept at the cyanogen mod screen forever. Did I do something wrong?

I'm kinda new to all this stuff.

asscancer

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
Well I reverted back to my backup again after almost bricking my phone...again. Now my Kernel is something that wasn't there before I tried all this stuff. I don't know what a Kernel is or if it's important but maybe the Sprint people won't notice it if i ever need to take it back for repairs.

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Well I reverted back to my backup again after almost bricking my phone...again. Now my Kernel is something that wasn't there before I tried all this stuff. I don't know what a Kernel is or if it's important but maybe the Sprint people won't notice it if i ever need to take it back for repairs.

If you restored your backup the kernel was also restored.

asscancer

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
Cool. Phone won't boot, just keeps at teh Cyanogen Mod screen. Wish there was a working Jelly Bean ROM for the Sprint GS3. Back to unrooted stock Samsung firmware.

cyanogen-man

Feb 1, 2012
Visit site
Did you wipe your dalvic cache and do a system wipe? If you didn't thats a big cause of boot looping but if you did that then idk just some advice

INSPIRE AOKP ICE COLD SANDWICH ROM ;)

asscancer

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
By the way, when recovering the phone, do I have to wipe data from the internal SD card?

I honestly don't know how I've managed to not brick my phone, I'm kinda just installing and re-installing backups at random when shizzle doesn't work.