Concerning Auto Correction on JellyBean keyboard (CM10 M1)

okaybn

Sep 28, 2012
Visit site
Hi,
I recently installed CM10 (M1) Jelly Bean for my galaxy s3. Everything works great, but im noticing something from the keyboard.

I am very new to android, so I am not sure if it never did this, but when I type it doesnt automatically correct my spelling/words. I previously used an iphone, and basically if I made stupid errors, it would simply replace the words as I typed. I would not have to choose the various word suggestions above.
Is this not a feature on the jellybean keyboard?
I have gone to settings and for "Auto Correction" I chose "very aggressive" and still my words are not being replaced at all.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

el_mariach

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site
I'm using the nightly build and I'm not having any problem. In fact as I was typing this in I was deliberately mistyping and it was auto correcting my spelling. You might want to flash the latest nightly build.

Starpower11

Nov 6, 2012
Visit site
I'm having the exact same problem as O/P and it's driving me nuts! I just got this S3 and DL'd the Android 4.1.1 that was available for it. The keyboard has no auto-fill/corrections, and is severely lacking the iOS keyboards that I'm used to.

What is the "Nightly Build"? I know that I have the latest OEM updates on my phone.

When I go into the keyboard section in Settings it give me no option for "Auto Correction" at all. Just basically asks which Keyboard I want to use (Google's J.B as it's currently on, or Samsung's, or "Swype"), and some other checkboxes, none of which have anything to do with auto-corrections.

EDIT: So in Settings, it shows that I'm using the "Samsung Keyboard", but it's using Googles's Voice Typing. It has the new Google Voice-To-Text and everything. Does this mean the Samsung Keyboard doesn't support the Auto-Correct feature?

Last edited:

el_mariach

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site