ROM FOR S3 SPRINT(new to s3 forum)

drm1992

Aug 3, 2011
Visit site
Hello

I am new to the S3 forums. I have been tempted to root my S3 lately but can not decide on which rom to use. So if people would not mind helping me out I would really appreciate it and would be very thankful. I am looking for a stable with all features working perfectly. I would not like to loose sbeam but I would like to use a different home launcher. I am currently stock at the moment with out root and would like your honest opinion without disrespecting any of the devs and all of their hard work.

Thank You in advanced.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Hello,

I'm sure the locals to the S3 can give some good advice but my general rule of thumb is grab a few that interest you and give each a test drive for a few days. Make a full system backup in your custom recovery before hand so you have your current setup to return to if need be.

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
First, you don't need to root to use a different launcher. There are a number of popular ones in the play store, including Nova, Go, Unity, and more. Just search the Play store for "launcher." Most have free versions or free trials. You ca even load the Android 4.4 (Kitkat) launcher without rooting, I think. If that's really the only reason you want to root I'd say leave well enough alone.

Has your S3 gotten the upgrade to Android 4,3 yet? If so, that changes the rooting equation, and risk, a bit.

Finally, ROMS: If you want to keep s-beam you'll want a touchwiz-based ROM. My favorite is MOAR. Wicked Sensations is also very popular. Read through this forum and you'll find others have asked the same question, and you'll see some other recommendations.

As Paul mentions, after rooting, and before flashing a new ROM, do a nandroid backup in recovery so you can easily restore to stock if needed.

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site