1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    37 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM 10

Default Question about unrooting Sprint GS3

Hello!

I rooted my phone a while back and now I've decided it's time to unroot because I want to get the OTA Jelly Bean update. Before I rooted, I made a recovery of my unrooted stock rom. I booted back into the recovery rom and everything seems as it was. However, I was wondering if my phone is still rooted? Is there anyway I can check. I'm new to all this stuff and I'm getting a bit confused.
    Retired Ambassador

Default Re: Question about unrooting Sprint GS3

Quote Originally Posted by j0eycasco View Post
    Hello!

I rooted my phone a while back and now I've decided it's time to unroot because I want to get the OTA Jelly Bean update. Before I rooted, I made a recovery of my unrooted stock rom. I booted back into the recovery rom and everything seems as it was. However, I was wondering if my phone is still rooted? Is there anyway I can check. I'm new to all this stuff and I'm getting a bit confused.
    First off, being rooted is not going to stop you from getting the ota. Custom recovery will stop it. While being rooted did you remove any of the Sprint/Samsung bloatware? If so that will keep your phone from successfully installing the ota.

If you are rooted with a stock recovery and no bloat remove, just wait for the ota to come to you.

If you have custom recovery such as cwm or twrp, you will not be able to update with the ota. (Most likely you do as you made a backup).

If you have removed any of the bloatware you will not be able to successfully install the ota.

When you have answered those question I can advise you on how to proceed.
    http://forums.androidcentral.com/signaturepics/sigpic70132_2.gif

Hey Skunkape,

I have rooted my S3 (sprint) with cwm. I do get the ota notifications, but like you mentioned, cwm prevents me from updating. I didn't delete any bloatware though. How would I update my phone? Thanks