Inaccessible OS due to ROM setting mistake

Skunkape60

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Perhaps. I should note that at one point early in this troubling adventure, although I am unsure as to why or how it happened: after I ran into the PUK screen, I flashed CM10 to replace the SlimBean ROM, and on the next reboot or two I was able to access the OS, do the setup and move around. The following reboot returned the PUK screen, and I have not been able to simulate or repeat the access result I did indeed have with subsequent flashes. However, this does give me hope that there is a work-around out there somewhere.

From what I uderstand the SIM (or PUK) info is stored within the EFS folder in the file nv_data.bin. Apparently, recovery tasks cannot touch this area to erase it or reset it based on current results thus far. Then again, I am just a noob.

Efs folder is one of the most dangerous folders to mess with on this phone. But if you could get in somehow on a rooted phone you can delete the entry with a root explorer. Yes I know you can't get into the os and that's your problem. Did you hear from spagman yet. He can restore your efs folder back to the original configuration. Let him know what you want to try.

Another thought is doing it from your computer. There are methods to backup and restore your efs folder from your computer using adb. Then you could possibly EDIT your backup to get rid of the puk. Then restore the edited backup.

GRazor71

Oct 15, 2012
Visit site