Help with update

salm04

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site
Noob here :-\ lol

I keep getting a update android software notification when I try to install it it keeps failing

I am rooted but i don't know how to unroot or how to check what i used to root as my laptop is fried and the link with the steps i used was saved on there :(

Any help will be greatly appreciated :) i have the 4.1.1 on my GS3 now i dont know what this update is or if its even worth it

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Noob here :-\ lol

I keep getting a update android software notification when I try to install it it keeps failing

I am rooted but i don't know how to unroot or how to check what i used to root as my laptop is fried and the link with the steps i used was saved on there :(

Any help will be greatly appreciated :) i have the 4.1.1 on my GS3 now i dont know what this update is or if its even worth it

It keeps failing because it knows you are rooted. To obtain root access, and additional line of code/file has to be added. The update looks for that extra little bit. Now that you are rooted, all of your updates will have to be done manually.

meyerweb#CB

Banned
Sep 4, 2009
Visit site
One other note. Some rooted users have reported that accepting the OTA has"broken" their phone, requiring a factory reset or even the reloading of a complete ROM. In the future, don't accept any requests to update automatically. There will usually be a way to manually update posted here, or on XDA, soon after the OTA appears. Frequently before the OTA.

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
One other note. Some rooted users have reported that accepting the OTA has"broken" their phone, requiring a factory reset or even the reloading of a complete ROM. In the future, don't accept any requests to update automatically. There will usually be a way to manually update posted here, or on XDA, soon after the OTA appears. Frequently before the OTA.