1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Fear of improper rooting! please help!

Hello, so I managed to follow the instructions of this root here:

I even did some additional steps, such as unchecking autoreboot. Rootchecker says 'unrooted'.

Busybox gives me the error:

There was problem opening the shell with root access. This is either being caused by superuser/super su or by a device that is improperly rooted. Is there a way I can solve this before something bad happens to my phone? If I want to reattempt this, is there any files I should delete?

I am very new to rooting and need some info ASAP! This place has helped me before, so I appriciate it!

Default Re: Fear of improper rooting! please help!

Since your posting in this forum, I'm going to assume you're on sprint. If not, do NOT follow this guide.

But i would clear your caches, preform a factory reset, and follow this guide exactly. It worked for me and has been one of the greatest guides I've seen for the S3. Keep posting if you get stuck.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

I would like to avoid performing a factory reset. The sole purpose of my rooting isn't to flash ROMS, but to download Titanium Backup. Is there a way to do this method without performing a factory reset? I already have Superuser and all of the other steps from the failed root.

Global Posts
    508 Global Posts
    ROM
    Jedi V1.1 - KitKat 4.4.2

Quote Originally Posted by bxbshingo View Post
    I would like to avoid performing a factory reset. The sole purpose of my rooting isn't to flash ROMS, but to download Titanium Backup. Is there a way to do this method without performing a factory reset? I already have Superuser and all of the other steps from the failed root.
    Look for D2SPR CFAutoRoot for Sprint Galaxy S3 it works like a charm all you do is flash it through ODIN and its done, worked for me like a charm (Stock Rom 4.1.2)