Processor not responding

remadegold

Mar 25, 2014
Visit site
For the second or third time, my phone has frozen up and I get a "The processor is not responding" screen. I usually just hard reboot, but I'd really like to know why it's happening. I'm new to android, and my previous (an LG) turned into a nightmare so I'm kinda paranoid. Suggestions? Thanks in advance.

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Welcome to the forums!

That's a new one to me - sounds like you may have a real hardware problem. Here are some things you can try, just to see if the behavior continues:
1. Shut the phone off completely; remove the battery for a few minutes; reinsert the battery and turn the phone back on
2. Boot the phone into Safe mode http://support.verizonwireless.com/support/devices/knowledge_base.html/59242 (you won't be able to use any 3rd party apps in this mode)
3. Boot into Recovery mode and clear the cache
4. Boot into Recovery mode and perform a Factory Reset (this will erase all of your information [except what is stored on an SD card, if present] so make a backup of anything important first - install the Kies software on your computer for this)

Here's how to get into Recovery mode:
- you use Recovery mode to clear the system cache and to Factory Reset
- you use Download (aka Odin) mode (showing the Android guy) to load/reload firmware
- the key sequences to enter both modes are very similar, and they are timing dependent so it may take a few tries to get it working
-- Recovery = Volume Up + Home + Power
-- Download = Volume Down + Home + Power
- for either, you start with the phone completely off
- press and hold the required keys simultaneously, and release them all when you see the swirling logo (not the static white text)